All good things come to an end, but not yet! - Reisverslag uit Christchurch, Nieuw Zeeland van Eelco Horssen - WaarBenJij.nu All good things come to an end, but not yet! - Reisverslag uit Christchurch, Nieuw Zeeland van Eelco Horssen - WaarBenJij.nu

All good things come to an end, but not yet!

Door: Eelco

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Eelco

16 December 2012 | Nieuw Zeeland, Christchurch

There is only one more week left in my internship. My report is almost finished so that is all on schedule and going well.

Last couple of weeks have been very interesting. Working hard during the weeks to get my work done and spending quality time in NZ during the weekends.

I got to visit Banks peninsula near Christchurch. It is a really beatiful place. The see comes in into the crater of an old vulcano. There is a lot of wildlife, amongst which the Hector dolphins we got to see on a cruise.

Some friends I made here have left after their internship finished. We will probably be seeing eachother in Europe some time since. That will be a good time to remember all the fun stuff we experienced together.

One of those fun things has been skydiving. That is some crazy experience. It's a great rush but jumping out of a plane still seems quite weird to me.

Another activity was a endurance Go Kart race. We came in third after 300 laps with 5 drivers. Unfortunately I did a drivethrough trough the pits lane because I mistook the pink flag (used to indicate a drivers change) for a red flag, because it had gone darker due to the grease and smoke in the air. We could have been 1st or 2nd but it was a great evening nonetheless.

Since The Hobbit came out we went to see it at the movies. A nice movie to see, although I didnt remember anything from the book. I really feel like being there since the landscape is really what is around me here in NZ.

Christchurch is also the base for expeditions to the south pole. Therefor the antarctic centre is a cool interactive museum about the antarctic. The also have pinguins. Riding the Hagglund, the amphibious antarctic transportation car, is a really cool experience. Unfortunately my camera somehow didnt save any pictures from this day so that was kind of a bummer when I came home.

On the subject of technical malfunctions: My loyal laptop which had been working for me for 5,5 years died. I got a semi-working laptop from my flatmate and I hope it will hold out until I come back to the Netherlands. It has made uploading pictures and writing stuff more difficult.

On december 27th I will leave Christchurch, so preparations for that are underway. I will first travel the parts of the south island that I have not been to yet. On 6th of January I take the ferry to the north island and on Januari 31st I fly back to the netherlands. So I still have a lot of good times ahead.

I am getting other people who are visiting NZ together on the beach for Christmas, so that is bound t be a good day as well. Summer has fully set in now with daytime temperatures from 25-30 degrees.

Next week will be time to say cya to a lot of people here. But there is still a lot of good times to come. And I'm still meeting new people.

PS: I hope to add some pictures soon, but I don't know when I will be able to sort some pictures out.




  • 20 December 2012 - 08:20

    Jeroen:

    Gaaf om te lezen allemaal Eelco! Veel plezier nog komende maand en alvast fijne feestdagen! Hebt een hoop te vertellen wanneer je terugkomt.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Eelco

Actief sinds 30 Sept. 2012
Verslag gelezen: 154
Totaal aantal bezoekers 19336

Voorgaande reizen:

14 September 2012 - 31 Januari 2013

New Zealand

30 September 2012 - 31 December 2012

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: